Thermal insulation products for buildings according to the EN Standards EN 13162 to EN 13171 as well as for industrial installations according to the EN Standards EN 14303 to EN 14314 and others underlying the certification scheme are labelled with the KEYMARK and/or VDI mark "Überwacht nach VDI 2055". The rules were elaborated by the European Quality Assurance Committee (QAC) a combination of the former Scheme Development Group 5 (SDG-5) and the VDI-AG Gütesicherung.

The QAC is the European certification committee bringing together the interested parties like manufacturers, Testing Laboratories and Certification Bodies, active in the field of thermal insulation products. It is responsible for drafting the specific scheme rules that apply for KEYMARK certification of thermal insulation products. The tasks of the QAC are:

  • Drafting and updating of codes of practice for the quality assurance
  • Measures for the area of heat and cold protection of operational installations
  • Acknowledgement of registered Resting Laboratories and Inspection Bodies
  • Acknowledgement of accredited quality protection alliances for voluntary quality assurance
  • Appointment of Certification Bodies
  • Advisory service for institutes and Testing Laboratories in professional and formal questions
  • Supervision and checking of Testing Laboratories
  • Cooperation in European and international bodies for quality protection
  • Additionally, the QAC serves as arbitration committee in case of conflicts and complaints, which occur between participants in the context quality assurance.

Comparable Scheme Development Groups exist for other products and they all have a link with the relevant CEN Technical Committee, responsible for elaborating the European Standards:

  • SDG-1: Plastics piping and ducting systems (CEN/TC 155)
  • SDG-2: Heat cost allocators (CEN/TC 171)
  • SDG-3: Ceramic tiles (CEN/TC 67 - EN 87)
  • SDG-4: Controllers for heating systems (CEN/TC 247)
  • SDG-5: Thermal insulation products (CEN/TC 88)

Each SDG works separately and most are still preparing their specific Scheme Rules.

CEN National Standardisation Institutes

CEN National Members

The Members supply European Standards as national standards and draft standards. The National Members are the only 'effective' Members according to Belgian law under which CEN is registered as a non-profit making international, scientific and technical organisation. The National Members approve the annual budget of CEN and elect its Secretary General in the statutory CEN General Assembly convened by its President. The Members are the national standards bodies of the EU and EFTA countries and the Czech Republic. They furnish the secretariats of CEN technical committees.

The CEN Members develop and vote for the ratification of European Standards. They must implement such standards as national standards, withdrawing all conflicting national standards on the same subject.


Affiliates are the national standards bodies of Central and Eastern European countries, which can in principle become members of the European Union or EFTA, and which therefore can become full National Members of CEN, on fulfilment of certain criteria, most importantly the adoption of European Standards as national standards. They may participate in the CEN General Assembly and in technical bodies. They receive all technical and general documentation from CEN.