Products for building insulation according to the EN Standards EN 13162 to EN 13171 underlying the certification scheme are labelled with the KEYMARK. The rules were elaborated by the Scheme Development Group 5.

The Scheme Development Group 5 (SDG-5) is the European certification committee bringing together the interested parties like manufacturers, Testing Laboratories and Certification Bodies, active in the field of thermal insulation products. It is responsible for drafting the specific scheme rules that apply for KEYMARK certification of thermal insulation products.

Comparable Scheme Development Groups exist for other products and they all have a link with the relevant CEN Technical Committee, responsible for elaborating the European Standards:

  • SDG-1: Plastics piping and ducting systems (CEN/TC 155)
  • SDG-2: Heat cost allocators (CEN/TC 171)
  • SDG-3: Ceramic tiles (CEN/TC 67 - EN 87)
  • SDG-4: Controllers for heating systems (CEN/TC 247)
  • SDG-5: Thermal insulation products (CEN/TC 88)

Each SDG works separately and most are still preparing their specific Scheme Rules.

CEN National Standardisation Institutes

CEN National Members

The Members supply European Standards as national standards and draft standards. The National Members are the only 'effective' Members according to Belgian law under which CEN is registered as a non-profit making international, scientific and technical organisation. The National Members approve the annual budget of CEN and elect its Secretary General in the statutory CEN General Assembly convened by its President. The Members are the national standards bodies of the EU and EFTA countries and the Czech Republic. They furnish the secretariats of CEN technical committees.

The CEN Members develop and vote for the ratification of European Standards. They must implement such standards as national standards, withdrawing all conflicting national standards on the same subject.


Affiliates are the national standards bodies of Central and Eastern European countries, which can in principle become members of the European Union or EFTA, and which therefore can become full National Members of CEN, on fulfilment of certain criteria, most importantly the adoption of European Standards as national standards. They may participate in the CEN General Assembly and in technical bodies. They receive all technical and general documentation from CEN.